New item Pay Now
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

Back to Moscow
Author: Guillermo Erades

Product Details:
ISBN: 9781471149283
Format: Paperback
Pages: 400
Dims (mm): 153 x 234
Pub Date: 10-03-16
Pub Country: United Kingdom
Condition: NEW

A sharply observed novel about an individual and the city that shapes him in the vein of Ben Lerner's Leaving the Atocha Station, Back to Moscow is distinctive, dazzling, witty and ultimately haunting. Months after his arrival in Moscow, doctoral student Martin hasn't written a word of his thesis on Russian literature because, for him and his dissolute friends, the cheap, bright lure of nightclubs, vodka and women is predictably hard to resist. At the end of the 1990s, the city is a chaotic metropolis storming into the twenty-first century in the midst of social and political turmoil - the grim old Soviet certainties are fading as money and the new elites rise to power. Martin finds himself torn between opposing sensibilities: on the one hand, the clean, limpid beauty of Lena, whom he meets at Propaganda, and her insistence on the Mysterious Russian Soul; on the other, his research supervisor Lyudmila Aleksandrovna, trapped in the long shadow of a Soviet past. Martin's restless explorations turn into a half-understood search for something more meaningful as Moscow leads him to darker and unexpected places, places tinged by Russia's ever-present sense of impending tragedy.

• Highest positive feedback percentage bookstore on Trade Me

• All our books are brand new and are supplied to us per order from their publisher

• Please allow approximately 4-7 working days for delivery (longer for rural)
There were no answered questions or comments placed on this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
Please log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms Licence #
By entering my licence number, I confirm I am aware of my obligations under the Arms Act.
Transaction details may be provided to police in accordance with the Terms & Conditions.
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

Buy more than one item and pay for shipping only once
  • For one or more items$2.95
  • Second or more items - combined delivery$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Waitakere City, Auckland, NZ

Payment options

  • NZ bank deposit