New item Pay Now
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

This item has FREE SHIPPING to any address in NZ

NOTE: A handling time of 2-4 business days applies for all orders. Once shipped, delivery takes 1-5 working days.

The Sixteenth of June

Condition: BRAND NEW
ISBN: 9781476745770
Author(s): Maya Lang
Format: Paperback
Year: 2015
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Dimensions: 132 x 18 x 201 (w x l x h)
Pages: 256

BUYER OFFERS: We are a retail store with set pricing and unfortunately we can't fulfil any requests to sell items for less than the listed price.

Description:
A finely observed debut novel that paints a funny, moving, truthful portrayal of a family at a turning point: A triumph (Helen Schulman, 'New York Times 'bestselling author of 'This Beautiful Life'). Leopold Portman dreams of settling down in Philadelphia s bucolic suburbs and starting a family with his fiancee, Nora. A talented singer in mourning for her mother, Nora has abandoned a promising opera career and wonders what her destiny holds. Her best friend, Stephen, Leopold s brother, dithers in his seventh year of graduate school and privately questions Leo and Nora s relationship. On June 16, 2004, the three are brought together first for a funeral, then for the Portmans annual Bloomsday party. As the long-simmering tensions between them rise, they must confront their pasts and their hopes for the future. Clever, lyrical, and poignant, 'The Sixteenth of June' delves into the frictions and allegiances of friendships, the murky uncertainty of early adulthood, and the yearning to belong. Offering a nod to James Joyce s 'Ulysses,' this remarkable novel explores the secrets we keep and the lengths we go to for acceptance and love. It is a perfect book for fans of Jonathan Tropper, Meg Wolitzer, and, yes, James Joyce ('Star Tribune,' Minneapolis).'

About Us:
The Nile New Zealand is your one-stop location for books, movies & music.

Over 7 million items to choose from; Great prices; free shipping anywhere in New Zealand; 1 working day responses to any email queries;
There were no answered questions or comments placed on this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
Please log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms Licence #
By entering my licence number, I confirm I am aware of my obligations under the Arms Act.
Transaction details may be provided to police in accordance with the Terms & Conditions.
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

Shipping prices are per item Shipping price is per item
  • Please allow 2-4 days handling, 1-5 days shipping$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Auckland City, Auckland, NZ

Payment options

  • NZ bank deposit