New item Pay Now
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

The Heavy
Author: Dara-Lynn Weiss

Product Details:
ISBN: 9781742758985
Format: Paperback
Pages: 256
Dims (mm): 159 x 234
Pub Date: 01-02-13
Pub Country: Australia
Condition: NEW

Description:
A mother's battle against her seven-year-old daughter's obesity. When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss's daughter, Bea, obese at the age of seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how can a woman with her own food and body issues - not to mention poor eating habits - successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity? In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir in the vein of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and French Children Don't Throw Food, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process - complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humour, and some surprising strategies - Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids' self-esteem. Compounding the challenge were eating environments - from school to restaurants to birthday parties - that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgements from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for the parents. She was criticised as readily for enabling Bea's condition as she was for enforcing the discipline and, yes, the deprivation necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing. The damned if you do/damned if you don't predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the centre of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity. A touch


*** PLEASE NOTE - This item is shipped from our Australian branch, please allow 6-9 days for delivery ***
There were no answered questions or comments placed on this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
Please log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms Licence #
By entering my licence number, I confirm I am aware of my obligations under the Arms Act.
Transaction details may be provided to police in accordance with the Terms & Conditions.
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

Buy more than one item and pay for shipping only once
  • For one or more items$2.95
  • Second or more items - combined delivery$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Waitakere City, Auckland, NZ

Payment options

  • NZ bank deposit