Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

Anatomy of a Rose

The Secret Life of Flowers

By Sharman Apt Russell


Format: Paperback, 240 pages
Other Information: illustrations
Published In: United Kingdom, 01 August 2002

An acclaimed nature writer reveals the secret life of flowers. In Anatomy of a Rose, Sharman Apt Russell eloquently unveils the "inner life" of flowers. From their diverse fragrances to their nasty deceptions, Russell proves that, where nature is concerned, 'wonder is not only our starting point, it can also be our destination.' Throughout this botanical journey, she reveals that the science behind these intelligent plants - how they evolved, how they survive, how they heal - is even more awe-inspiring than their fleeting beauty. Russell helps us imagine what a field of snapdragons looks like to a honeybee, and she introduces us to flowers that regulate their own temperature, attract pollinating bats, even smell like a rotting corpse. She also delves into cutting-edge research on everything from flower senses to their healing power. Long used to ease everything from depression to childbirth, flowers are now our main line of defence against childhood leukaemia and the deadly Ebola virus. In this wonderful book, which combines graceful writing with a scientist's clarity, Russell brings together the work of botanists around the globe, and illuminates a world at once familiar and exotic.

About the Author

Sharman Apt Russell is the author of three previous books, on the American West, none (understandably) published in the UK. She teaches writing at Western New Mexico University.

Promotional Information

A wonderfully written exploration of the sex and science of flowers, in the tradition of Anna Pavord's The Tulip and Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief. Please click here to ask a question
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
Please log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms Licence #
By entering my licence number, I confirm I am aware of my obligations under the Arms Act.
Transaction details may be provided to police in accordance with the Terms & Conditions.
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

  • New Zealand Post$3.00
  • Seller allows pick-ups
  • Seller location: Timaru, Timaru - Oamaru, NZ

Payment options

  • NZ bank deposit
  • Cash
  • Cash on pick up from Temuka