New item Free shipping Pay Now
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

Delivery takes approximately 4-7 business days.

This title is In Stock in the Booktopia Distribution Centre. We will send you a confirmation email with a Tracking Code to follow the progress of your parcel when it ships.

Savage Harvest
Author: Carl Hoffman

ISBN: 9780062116161
Format: Paperback
Number Of Pages: 336
Published: 10 March 2015
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 13.5 x 1.9
Description:
In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Lost in Shrangri-La, critically acclaimed journalist and author Carl Hoffman travels to the remote coast of New Guinea to uncover the mystery surrounding the disappearance of 23 year-old Michael C. Rockefeller in 1961, delving into the complex spiritual world of Asmat tribe, one that included head hunting and cannibalism. In the early 1960s, Michael C. Rockefeller had it all-brains, good looks, an adventurous spirit, and as the youngest son of Governor Nelson Aldrich Rockefeller and Mary Todhunter Rockefeller, an abundance of wealth and power. Upon graduating from Harvard University, Rockefeller's curiosity and travels took him to an expedition in New Guinea where he soon became fascinated with the culture and artwork of the Asmats, a local tribe which lived on the southern part of the island. On his quest to learn more about the Asmat people and to collect their coveted tribal artifacts, Rockefeller soon returned to New Guinea. One afternoon, he and his companion, Dutch anthropologist Rene Wassing, were in a canoe about three miles from shore when it suddenly capsized, spilling both men into the sea. After drifting for several hours and moving even further away from...

Returns Policy:
30-day money back guarantee for return if the item is not as described, is damaged or is faulty. We do not offer a refund if you change your mind.

Customs Charges & Duties:
Orders over the value of $270 will be liable for customs charges, taxes including GST and brokerage costs which are the recipient's sole responsibility.
There were no answered questions or comments placed on this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
Please log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms Licence #
By entering my licence number, I confirm I am aware of my obligations under the Arms Act.
Transaction details may be provided to police in accordance with the Terms & Conditions.
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

  • Free shipping within New Zealand  

Payment options