New item Pay Now
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

Although the opening track, "Shout," takes on the theme of catharsis that dominated THE HURTING two years earlier, the progression evident from that debut to SONGS FROM THE BIG CHAIR is manifest in every other facet. While many of the band's synth-pop peers continued to develop along a linear route, Tears For Fears vaulted into the potentially insipid world of '80s MOR.

Curt Smith sings on the radio-friendly "Everybody Wants to Rule the World," but Roland Orzabal's stronger voice takes center-stage for much of the album, including the spirited single "Mother's Talk" and a falsetto on the stadium-sized "Head Over Heels." "The Working Hour" is the perfect realization of the new sound: a smooth six-minute arrangement of saxophone, piano, and guitar that's marked by a restrained sense of drama. SONGS FROM THE BIG CHAIR is an excellent album and, shading Simple Minds' ONCE UPON A TIME, arguably the finest example of epic '80s pop.

Track Listing:

Disc 1 (Songs From The Big Chair):
1. Shout
2. The Working Hour
3. Everybody Wants To Rule The World
4. Mothers Talk
5. I Believe
6. Broken
7. Head Over Heels / Broken (Live)
8. Listen
9. The Working Hour (Piano Version)
The B-Sides:
10. The Marauders
11. Empire Building
12. The Big Chair
13. Pharaohs (Single Version)
14. When In Love With A Blind Man
15. Sea Song
16. Broken Revisited

Disc 2 (Rarities 1983 - 1985):
The 7" Singles:
1. The Way You Are (7" Version)
2. Mothers Talk (Short Version)
3. Shout (Edit)
4. Everybody Wants To Rule The World (7" Version)
5. Head Over Heels (Dave Bascombe 7" N. Mix)
6. I Believe (A Soulful Re-Recording)
7. Mothers Talk (U.S. Mix)
The 12" Singles:
8. Shout (U.S. Remix)
9. Shout (U.S. Dub Version)
10. Everybody Wants To Rule The World (Urban Mix)
11. Mothers Talk (Beat Of The Drum Mix)
12. Broken / Head Over Heels / Broken (Preacher Mix)

Upon payment, your purchase is dispatched the same or next business day. We offer courier to P O Boxes. Please read the questions and answers for this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
You must log in to ask or answer questions posted. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms Licence #
By entering my licence number, I confirm I am aware of my obligations under the Arms Act.
Transaction details may be provided to police in accordance with the Terms & Conditions.
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

Buy more than one of this item and only pay for shipping once.
  • COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$3.50
  • RD COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$6.50
  • AUSTRALIA - please contact us for combining charge$6.50
  • COMBINED (FULL freight paid on other auction)$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Upper Hutt City, Wellington, NZ

Payment options

  • Other options
    NZ bank deposit, Payment to be made within 5 working days

Pay Now includes:

Buyer Protection Learn More