Listing Detail Tabs

A Strong Hand to Hold

ISBN: 9780007547760
Authors(s): Anne Bennett

Please allow up to 7 BUSINESS days for delivery

About A Strong Hand to Hold:

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves. Jenny O'Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham's injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day. Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her. So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything...


No of pages: 480
Published as: Paperback
Genre: Romance & Sagas

Please allow 3-10 BUSINESS DAYS for delivery.
Ensure your address is correct on TRADE ME
All items are in stock with NZ supplier & shipped by us.
All items are sent by tracked courier - you will be emailed tracking details.
Your purchase will be packed securely in recycled / reused packaging.
Spend over $100 in combined purchases and get free shipping
FREE gift wrapping available on small items
There were no answered questions or comments placed on this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
You must log in to ask or answer questions posted. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms licence #
Firearms licence holder name
First name is required
Last name is required
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

  • NZ wide shipping - tracked courier$4.90
  • NZ wide RURAL delivery - tracked courier$7.65
  • 2nd/3rd/4th book & shipping already paid on 1$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Manukau City, Auckland, NZ

Payment options

    • Use your debit or credit card, bank account or Ping balance.
      Visa MasterCard QCard
  • Other options
    NZ bank deposit

Ping includes:

Buyer Protection Learn More