New item Pay Now
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

Rhombus is the self-titled new album from the Welli scene stalwarts, and is proudly independently released. The 3rd album from the organic/electronic collective ranges from lush downtempo to the crazy insane, mashing up socially conscious lyrics with oceanic-sized sonic beats. Following up 2002s celebrated Bass Player and 2005s Future Reference was never going to be easy but with Rhombus, the group have truly surpassed themselves.

Rhombus have been working hard on the live circuit the last couple of years, winning respect for their energetic shows at home, in Aus and Japan while back in the studio, the Rhombus brains trust were crafting the new album, injecting an atom smashing vibe into their South Pacific brew of dub n bass, hip-hop, soul, funk, and roots-reggae.

The Rhombus production crew comprises band founders Thomas Voyce and Simon Rycroft with Koa Williams.

In addition to production, Thomas plays bass/keys and writes lyrics, Simon handles electronic tweaks, beats and dubs, while Koa takes to turntable duties as DJ support for live shows.

The latest album stars longtime Rhombus vocalists MC Antsman, MC Mana, Raashi Malik and Lisa Tomlins, together bringing a powerful and soulful voice to the band. Its worth noting that Lisa Tomlins, one of the countrys most versatile singers, delivers a killer MC debut on the aptly titled tune Prize Fighter!

Other guests include original Studio One DJ and singer Ranking Joe adding his trademark Bang-Dilly vocal to rub-a-dub ska track Babylon Retreat, and fellow Jamaican Junior Kelly guests on soulful dancehall number Royalty.

Reflecting the Rhombus connection to Japan Article 9 features Japanese MCs Piyo, Ayumu, Chikau and Koursuke.

1 So Close -
2 Losing It (A.D. D) -
3 Hawera -
4 Babylon Retreat -
5 It's Like This -
6 Royalty -
7 Home to Me -
8 Piñata -
9 Prize Fighter -
10 Beautiful Things -
11 True Meanings -
12 Article 9 -
13 Losing It (A.D. D) [Extended Mix] - Please read the questions and answers for this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
You must log in to ask or answer questions posted. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms licence #
Firearms licence holder name
First name is required
Last name is required
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

  • COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$3.50
  • RD COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$6.50
  • AUSTRALIA - please contact us for combining charge$6.50
  • COMBINED (FULL freight paid on other auction)$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Upper Hutt City, Wellington, NZ

Payment options

  • Other options
    NZ bank deposit, Payment to be made within 5 working days

Pay Now includes:

Buyer Protection Learn More