New item Ping
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

Released in 1994, ‘Modern Rock’ was The Clean’s second studio album.

Now being re-issued, the album, with its slightly tongue-in-cheek title, is an elaborate set of songs that sees the band further experimenting with their fuzz-drenched pop. From the swirling keyboard echoes on “Outside the Cage”, the spacious vocals on “Something I Need” through to the off-kilter melodies of “Too Much Violence” and “Do Your Thing”, it captures all the elements that make this band so great.

Modern Rock is at times more inward-looking than the band’s earlier work, and even melancholic in moments, making it both constantly intriguing and instantly recognisable. Formed in Dunedin in 1978, The Clean helped kickstart Flying Nun Records in the early 1980s and have gone on to become one of New Zealand’s most loved bands.

The Clean are David Kilgour - Guitar/Vocals, Robert Scott - Bass/Vocals, Hamish Kilgour - Drums/Vocals

Track Listing:

1. Starting Point
2. Outside The Cage
3. Linger Longer
4. Wake Up In The Morning
5. 2 Reasons
6. Safe In The Rain
7. Secret Place
8. Something I Need
9. Different World
10. Stomp The Guru
11. Too Much Violence
12. Phluke
13. Do Your Thing
14. Ginger Ale

Upon payment, your purchase is dispatched the same or next business day. We offer courier to P O Boxes. Please read the questions and answers for this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
You must log in to ask or answer questions posted. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms licence #
Firearms licence holder name
First name is required
Last name is required
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

Buy more than one of this item and only pay for shipping once.
  • COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$3.90
  • RD COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$6.90
  • AUSTRALIA - please contact us for combining charge$6.90
  • COMBINED (FULL freight paid on other auction)$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Upper Hutt City, Wellington, NZ

Payment options

  • Other options
    NZ bank deposit, Payment to be made within 5 working days

Ping and Afterpay include:

Buyer Protection Learn More