New item Ping
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

If you haven't already heard about M.I.A. get ready. The debut album from Maya Arupragasam, the Sri Lankan refugee daughter of a Tamil Tiger rebel, is hitting the airwaves (and media) the world over and quite rightfully so. Born in London, raised in Sri Lanka and India, and educated at a London art school, diversity defines M.I.A. Megabytes have been devoted to pinning down her sound, exploring her terrorism tinged past and dissecting her freedom fighter lyrics. Put on the album however and what is immediately clear is that M.I.A is a very talented one women show. Her cut and paste musical style is held together throughout by her rock solid vocals that shift unblinkingly from sexy schoolgirl to street savvy gutter snipe. The beats are bare but the groove is ferocious and the diversity, rawness and ever-present edge makes this an exciting and infectious listen. So much so that as soon as it plays through it's tempting to put it on again for an immediate second listen. Trying to categorise this is no easy task, throw a genre at it and chances are it'll stick. Hip-hop, dance hall, ragga, pop, grime, electro-clash - they're all thrown in to Maya's melting pot but what comes out is startlingly well accomplished songs with simplicity and strength. Hints of Dizzee Rascal, The Streets, Peaches, Gwen Stefani, Shonen Knife and Missy Elliott are all present and fans of any of these will enjoy M.I.A. Hell even if you don't like any of these it's worth giving M.I.A a listen. For once the hype may well be right!

Track Listing:

1. Banana Skit
2. Pull Up The People
3. Bucky Done Gun
4. Sunshowers
5. Fire Fire
6. Dash The Curry Shit
7. Amazon
8. Bingo
9. Hombre
10. One For The Head Skit
11. 10 Dollar
12. U.R.A.Q.T
13. Galang

Upon payment, your purchase is dispatched the same or next business day. We offer courier to P O Boxes. Please read the questions and answers for this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
You must log in to ask or answer questions posted. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms licence #
Firearms licence holder name
First name is required
Last name is required
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

Buy more than one of this item and only pay for shipping once.
  • COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$3.90
  • RD COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$6.90
  • AUSTRALIA - please contact us for combining charge$6.90
  • COMBINED (FULL freight paid on other auction)$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Upper Hutt City, Wellington, NZ

Payment options

  • Other options
    NZ bank deposit, Payment to be made within 5 working days

Ping and Afterpay include:

Buyer Protection Learn More