New item Ping
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

Considering that the last time Bruce Springsteen collaborated with the E Street Band for a full album of new material was on 1984's epochal BORN IN THE USA, it's entirely appropriate that their 2002 album THE RISING should be forged from images strongly linked to the events of September 11th, one of America's most trying times. Virtually every song here is related to that tragedy either directly or indirectly. Some, like the surging "My City in Ruins" and the melancholy "Empty Sky" largely eschew metaphor, while others approach the situation from more oblique angles. "Mary's Place" is a rousing roots-rocker about finding joy in the face of sadness, while both the Eastern-flavored "Worlds Apart" and the homegrown "Let's Be Friends" address the need for communication and understanding between disparate entities.

Musically, many of THE RISING's songs are in wide-screen, anthemic mode, as Bruce and company attempt to rally their wounded country with positivity and clear-eyed optimism without shrinking from unpleasant reality. The interstitial ballads take the poignant storytelling mode Springsteen employed on his last new album, 1995's THE GHOST OF TOM JOAD, and apply it to THE RISING's more universal themes. Whatever the format, the enthusiastic camaraderie of the E Streeters and their Boss is audible and infectious.

Track Listing:

1. Lonesome Day
2. Into The Fire
3. Waitin' On A Sunny Day
4. Nothing Man
5. Countin' On A Miracle
6. Empty Sky
7. Worlds Apart
8. Let's Be Friends (Skin To Skin)
9. Further On (Up The Road)
10. Fuse, The
11. Mary's Place
12. You're Missing
13. The Rising
14. Paradise
15. My City Of Ruins

Upon payment, your purchase is dispatched the same or next business day. We offer courier to P O Boxes. Please read the questions and answers for this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
You must log in to ask or answer questions posted. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms licence #
Firearms licence holder name
First name is required
Last name is required
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

Buy more than one of this item and only pay for shipping once.
  • COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$3.90
  • RD COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$6.90
  • AUSTRALIA - please contact us for combining charge$6.90
  • COMBINED (FULL freight paid on other auction)$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Upper Hutt City, Wellington, NZ

Payment options

  • Other options
    NZ bank deposit, Payment to be made within 5 working days

Ping and Afterpay include:

Buyer Protection Learn More