New item Ping
Add this item to Cart for a combined free shipping deal
Click to enlarge photo

Listing Detail Tabs

Recording information: 1997 - 2003.

Macy Gray catapulted into the limelight around the beginning of 2000 with the unusual, but certainly captivating, single "I Try," leading to critical acclaim and multiple Grammy nominations for her debut record. While "unique" is a word too often used to describe R&B vocals, Gray's raspy, dramatic singing style and coy, lilting inflections are truly unlike any other (Kelis may be the only performer even in her neighborhood). Gray's originality carries over to her songwriting, which is peppered with angular sonic phrases intermingled with acute observations on life, love, and society. "Do Something," which seamlessly interpolates about four different musical themes into an enrapturing message-oriented song, is a prime example.

Over three albums, Gray gained a sizeable following, while scoring periodic hits. Only five years after her debut, she captured enough fancies to earn a best-of collection. THE VERY BEST OF MACY GRAY gathers her finest moments from these records (including the smooth "Sweet Baby" and the hip-hop flecked "It Ain't the Money"), along with two new songs, most notably an exceptional revision of Aerosmith's "Walk This Way," and three inventive remixes, including a deft Gang Starr take on "I've Committed Murder."

Track Listing:

1. I Try
2. Do Something
3. Still
4. Why Didn't You Call Me
5. I've Committed Murder
6. Sexual Revolution
7. Sweet Baby - (with Erykah Badu)
8. Boo
9. When I See You
10. It Ain't the Money - (with Pharoah Monche)
11. She Ain't Right For You
12. Love Is Gonna Get Ya
13. Walk This Way - (previously unreleased)
14. Demons - (bonus track, with Fatboy Slim)
15. When I See You - (Bugz In The Attic mix, bonus track)
16. I've Committed Murder - (Gangstarr Main mix, bonus track)
17. Sexual Revolution - (Norman Cook Radio mix, bonus track)

Upon payment, your purchase is dispatched the same or next business day. We offer courier to P O Boxes. Please read the questions and answers for this listing.
Your question and answer privileges have been disabled.
You must log in to view questions and answers on this listing. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases.
You must log in to ask or answer questions posted. We recommend reading questions before you make any purchases. Available only to approved bidders. You must be an authenticated member to ask questions Find out more about becoming authenticated. Your account is in debt Your current account balance is You must credit your account to use this feature.
Firearms licence #
Firearms licence holder name
First name is required
Last name is required
Your current account balance is Please note you will lose your question and answer privileges if your account is in debt for more than 2 weeks. Credit your account.
I confirm that I am over 18 years old.
To prevent your personal details being misused please do not put emails or phone numbers in questions. Failure to comply may result in the suspension of your account. The seller cannot add a Buy Now price once bidding has started.

Shipping options

  • COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$3.90
  • RD COURIER (1+ CDs / 1+ DVDs)$6.90
  • AUSTRALIA - please contact us for combining charge$6.90
  • COMBINED (FULL freight paid on other auction)$0.00
  • Store does not allow pick-ups
  • Store location: Upper Hutt City, Wellington, NZ

Payment options

  • Other options
    NZ bank deposit, Payment to be made within 5 working days

Ping and Afterpay include:

Buyer Protection Learn More